Texas House Bill 681 and Senate Bill 321 (addendum)

According to the Texas State Rifle Association representative,

House Bill 681 Relating to an employee's transportation and storage of certain firearms or ammunition while on certain property owned or controlled by the employee's employer introduced by Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington) is to be heard in House Business and Industry Committee on Monday (2/28) See the bill at http://www.legis.state.tx.us/BillLookup/history.aspx?LegSess=82R&Bill=HB681

Senate Bill 321 Relating to an employee's transportation and storage of certain firearms or ammunition while on certain property owned or controlled by the employee's employer by Sen. Glenn Hegar (R-Katy) is to be heard Senate Criminal Justice Committee on Tuesday (3/1) See the bill at http://www.legis.state.tx.us/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=82R&Bill=SB321

Apparently a number of large businesses are trying to attach amendments to the bill to restrict employee’s rights.

You can call the House committee members or the Senate committee members at the numbers below to voice your opinions on this bill and thank the authors and co-authors.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

house-bus

April 2011 - Texas Senate Bill 354 - Campus Carry

Just a quick alert on some legislative bills that may be moving through the process shortly -

Senate Bill 354 proposed by Senator Wentworth on Campus Carry is on the Senate Floor and may be debated as early as Monday of next week. Many proposals for exceptions and opt-out provisions are expected for such things as insurance costs, liability, childcare centers, and on and on. If you have a feeling on this bill, be sure to contact the persons involved as quickly as you can.

My major observance is that they must be over 21 years of age to be a concealed handgun licensee and they already can carry in legal places around the University. No problems have arisen up to now and just how safe are these areas as long as they are “gun free zones.” The young people who have shown up for the classes have impressed me. They have their heads on straight and are responsible.

Two other proposed bills Senate Bill 321/House Bill 681 which are the Employee Parking Lot Issue and Senate Bill 766/House Bill 1595 the Shooting Protection Bill will probably be up for debate this next week and all will be fast moving once they get to the floors.

The Texas State Rifle Association and the Texas Concealed Handgun Instructors Association both have alerts on their web site as to the progress of the bills if you are interested. http://www.tsra.com and http://www.txchia.org

We are setting up two new classes to replace the ones we have been doing that will be about 4 hours long. The first is a Basic Handgun Instruction learning to shoot revolvers and semiautomatics. It will be about 1 hour in the classroom with hands on learning and then a couple of hours on the range shooting .22 semiautomatics, revolvers and then 9 mm semiautomatics to learn the operation, safety of handling and sighting. We will also clean the guns. The price will be $65 with use of handguns and ammo furnished.

The second will be a Sharpening Your Shooting Abilities class and this you will need to bring your own handgun with 100 rounds of ammo (or make arrangements to rent a gun and purchase ammunition from the range) and we will do drills and practice methods to improve your defensive shooting abilities in using cover, concealment and thought process. It will be 4 hours and the price will be $65. The first Sharpening Your Shooting Abilities class will be Saturday, June 25, 2011.

CONTACTS FOR CAMPUS CARRY BILLS are below:

*Senator Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury) (Co-author)
Brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0111

*Senator John Carona (R-Dallas)
John.carona@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0116

Senator Wendy Davis (D-Fort Worth)
wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0110

*Senator Robert Deuell (R-Greenville)
bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0102

Senator Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock)
robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0128

Senator Rodney Ellis (D-Houston)
rodney.ellis@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0113

*Senator Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) (Co-author)
jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0112

Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville)
robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0103

Senator Steve Ogden (R-Bryan)
steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0105

*Senator Dan Patrick (R-Houston)(Co-author)
dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0107

Senator Jose Rodriguez (D-El Paso)
jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0129

*Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) (Co-author)
kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0129

Senator Florence Shapiro (R-Plano)
florence.shaprio@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0108

Senator Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio)
carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0119

Senator Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio)
leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0126

Senator Kirk Watson (D-Austin)
kirk.watson@senate.tx.us
512-463-0114

**Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio) (Bill Author)
jeff.wentworth@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0125

Senator Royce West (D-Dallas)
royce.west@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0123

Senator John Whitmire (D-Houston)
john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0115

*Senator Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands) (Co- author)
tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo)
judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0121

(Co-author)

(Co-author)

*Senator Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler) (Co-author)
kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0101

*Senator Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) (Co-author)
craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0130

*Senator Troy Fraser (R-Horseshoe Bay) (Co-author)
troy.fraser@sente.state.tx.us
512-463-0124

Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. (D-Houston)
mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0106

*Senator Chris Harris (R-Arlington) (Co-author)
chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0109

*Senator Glenn Hegar, Jr. (R-Katy) (Co-author)
glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0118

Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D-McAllen)
juan.hinojosa@senate.tx.us
512-463-0120

Senator Joan Huffman (R-Southside Place)
Joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0117

*Senator Mike Jackson (R-La Porte) (Co-author)
mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0111

Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. (D-Brownsville)
eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us
512-463-0127

contacts

Comments are closed.