Obtaining a permit to carry concealed in the State of Texas now requires a 4-6 hour Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety. The class will now cover the use of force, dispute resolution, Texas laws regarding use of force as a defense, and take a 50 question test. Gun knowledge, preparation and qualifying on the range is in addition to the 4-6 hour class.
The applicant then applies and pays a fee to the State which completes a background check and completes the issuance of the license.
You need a good basic knowledge of your handgun and its operation to qualify on the range, shooting center of mass a total of 50 rounds at a B27 target from 9 feet, 21 feet, and 45 feet.
The licensee must renew with the State every 5 years.
The fee for the first time class is $100.00 and includes the instruction, books, range fee, snacks, and use of a loaner gun if needed.
Learn to Shoot
If you are not sure of your handgun or have limited knowledge of the handgun, we do a Learn to Shoot Class approximately once a month. It is a four hour class for $75.00 and includes the use of our handguns and ammo. If you have a handgun you want to learn about, bring it. You can shoot the CHL qualification course at the end of a class if you bring a box of 50 rounds of ammo. For small groups or families, we can customize the course to make it longer or shorter depending on your skill level and needs.
“This is NOT a concealed handgun license class!!!
This is a four hour class for those who are starting their handgun experience to get away from just shooting a target and then checking to see where it hit.
It is an intensive range experience to learn drills and practice procedures to develop the ability to carry your handgun safely, shoot accurately and control your handgun. You get experience in choosing a target, getting to cover, using concealment and trauma. All students must have taken the Texas concealed handgun class, be somewhat knowledgeable of safely handling, shooting and controlling your handgun or receive pre-approval from one of the instructors to attend.
- There is a great deal of time assigned for range work
- There will be time for range practice after class
- Each student will bring their own handgun and 100 rounds of ammo
- Rental guns and ammo will be available at the range.
- Class ends around 12:00 noon
- CLASS SIZE IS VERY LIMITED!
Lessons are available for shooters of all skill level. Brian will help grow your knowledge and ability to execute the core fundamentals of handgunning, teach advanced application of these fundamentals and discuss your personal and home defense strategies. Private lessons are $80 for 90 minutes of one-on-one instruction, or $100 (total) for 2 students.