Red Skelton - Pledge of Alliegiance (click to play)
From: Ross & Dottie Bransford
Wednesday, May 22, 2013
"Arms in the hands of the citizens may be used at individual discretion for the defense of the country, the overthrow of tyranny or private self-defense." — John Adams
The State of Texas passed laws that allow us to carry concealed handguns for self-protection. Obtaining a permit to carry concealed in the State of Texas requires a 10 hour Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety and covers the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, dispute resolution and Texas laws regarding use of force as a defense and licensing requirements.
Obtaining a permit to carry concealed in the State of Texas requires completion of the course, qualifying with a handgun at the range, and passing a 50 question test. The applicant then applies and pays a fee to the State which completes a background check and completes the issuance of the license.
You need a basic knowledge of your handgun to qualify on the range, shooting center of mass a total of 50 rounds at a B27 target from 9 feet, 21 feet, and 45 feet.
The licensee must recertify with the State every 5 years. We offer the required recertification classes Check with DPS on your third recertification to see if you need to take the class.
Click on the Schedule button above to see our classes. Click on the details button by the date of the class and maps to the class and range will come up with an outline of the class. Renewal students join the class for their qualification and instruction at the range. You can pay online or call me to set up to pay at class.